The Meaning of Jahandost

8 10 2007

One of the readers asked for the meaning of Jahandost so I thought I should have it as a separate post so that it is more likely that everyone gets a chance to see it. The word Jahandost is from Farsi or Persian and is a concatenation of two words: Jahan means the universe and dost means friend. Hence Jahandost is the friend of the universe. An equivalent word in the Hindi language is Vishvamitra who is considered to be one of the greatest sages of ancient India and one of the authors of Rigveda. In Allama Muhammad Iqbal (also known as Iqbal Lahori) book Javed Nama Jahandost is one of the persons that he meet in his journey.

Actions

Information

10 responses

8 10 2007
azza05

Interesting……nice to know the explanation of Jahandost.

8 10 2007
amal

intresting , nice to know the meaning now since I did ask you .

9 10 2007
Sumera

😀 An apt name!

10 10 2007
Manas

Jahandost is also a Urdu and Hindi word. I would say Jahandost will raise less, if any, eyebrows, compared to Viswamitra. 😛

11 10 2007
jahandost

Thank you people.

Manas you are very correct. :p

14 10 2007
Manas

So you are Indian, are you?

14 10 2007
jahandost

Manas, actually no but I am familiar with Indian history lets just say.

15 10 2007
Manas

I am not very clear. But I have to respect your anonymity. 🙂

16 10 2007
jahandost

Manas, by that I meant that I am not from India. 🙂

18 10 2007
Manas

O no, that’s not what I meant. I was thinking about where you are from, but didn’t ask. 🙂

Leave a Reply

