Koonj on ‘I am a Walking Religion’

5 11 2007

One of my favorite bloggers from back in the days, Koonj, posted a powerful poem not too long ago but I did not get a chance to link to it. Here is an excerpt:

If I am a feminist, you snidely accuse me of cunningly outmanoeuvring my religion.
If I am an academic, you congratulate me on keeping my religiosity at bay just long enough to nab one of your jobs.
If I become depressed, you exhort me to lose the darkness of my religiosity.

If I am happy, you say I am deluded.

I cannot win. I cannot simply be. I must be defined and packed up in a small green box marked ISLAM.
Any flaws I have must be traced back to Islam. Any disadvantages I have must be marked up to my religion.

Any strengths I have must be explained away. I am, you say, too Western to be truly a Muslim woman. You say I am too Americanized to be a truly Muslim woman. I am too critical to be a real believer.

Speaking of back in  the days, Koonj characteristic style was very powerful and yet likable (Ok sometimes she does sound like an aunty). On a lighter note, if you get a chance then be sure to check out Koonj’s Khutba for Dummies. Its a classic. 🙂